We did not make Sourav Ganguly president of BCCI, there was no deal between us: Amit Shah

  • Home Minister Amit Shah said- I do not decide the President of BCCI, for this they have their own election process
  • Shah said- We do not need any face for the assembly elections in West Bengal 2021
  • Sourav Ganguly will be the new president of BCCI, election will be announced on October 23

New Delhi: Former captain Sourav Ganguly was elected the new president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) unopposed on Monday. There was speculation in the media that a deal was struck between the BJP and Ganguly over the 2021 Bengal elections. On this, Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah in an interview to a channel denied all these news. Shah said that we did not make Ganguly the BCCI president and there was no deal between us.

Shah said, “I don’t decide who will be the president of BCCI. For this, the BCCI has its own election process. I had no deal or meeting with Ganguly about this. “

‘We can win elections without anyone’

Shah was asked if Ganguly will be the face of BJP in the 2021 assembly elections in West Bengal in place of BCCI President’s post? On this, the Home Minister said, “It is just the wrong things being said against Sourav Ganguly. Anyway, we do not need any face in Bengal. Without a face, we had won 18 seats in the Lok Sabha elections. This does not mean that there is no need for faces, but we can win elections without anyone. ”

‘No problem meeting Ganguly’

Last year, Shah met Ganguly. There is also speculation about Sourav joining the BJP. To this question, the BJP president said, “He (Ganguly) can come to meet me anytime. I have been associated with cricket for many years. There is no problem in a meeting between Sourav Ganguly and I.”

Ganguly will be president for 10 months

Ganguly’s unopposed election will be announced on 23 October. He will be the chairman of the board for 10 months. Ganguly is the president of the Bengal Cricket Association for 5 years and 2 months. According to the new rules, any member of the board will hold a position for 6 consecutive years. Apart from this, Amit Shah’s son Jai has been elected as the treasurer and Arun Dhumal, younger brother of Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur, has been elected as treasurer.