Ten Karnataka ministers bite the dust in polls

Bengaluru: At least 10 ministers fell by the wayside as they lost their seats in an anti-incumbency wave that swept the Siddaramaiah government out of power in the assembly polls.

Siddaramaiah himself lost by a huge margin of 36,042 votes in his traditional constituency of Chamundeshwari in Mysuru to JDS’ G T Deve Gowda. He, however, managed to scrape through in Badami in north Karnataka, where he won by a slender margin of 1,696
votes after a see-saw battle against BJP’s B Sriramulu, a close associate of the mining baron Reddy brothers.

Siddaramaiah’s close aide H C Mahadevappa (55,451votes) lost to JDS M Ashwin Kumar (83,929 votes) in TNarsipura.

Ramanath Rai (81,831 votes) was defeated by BJP’s U Rajesh Naik (97,802 votes) in Bantwal in Dakshina Kannada district.

In Holalkere, H Anjaneya (69,036 votes) lost to BJP’s M Chandrappa (1,07,976 votes).

Dr Sharan Prakash Rudrappa Patil (73,468 votes) lost to BJP’s Rajkumar Patil (80,668 votes) in Sedam.

SS Mallikarjun (72,469 votes) was defeated by BJP’s SA Ravindranath (76,540 votes) in Davanagere.

Octogenerian and the oldest candidate to contest, Kagodu Thimappa (70,436 votes) lost to BJP’s H Halappa Harathalu (78,475 votes) in Sagara.

Basavaraj Rayareddi (65,754 votes) lost to BJP’s Char Halappa Basappa (79,072 votes) in Yelburga while Rudrappa Lamani (75,261 votes) conceded his seat to BJP’s Neharu Olekar
(86,565 votes) in Haveri.

Pramod Mdhwaraj (72,902 votes) was defeated by BJP’s Raghupathi Bhat (84,946 votes) in Udupi.