SP president Akhilesh Yadav to campaign for Congress in Karnataka polls

Lucknow: Though the party was yet to decide whether to contest the polls or not, Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav will campaign for Congress in the Karnataka Assembly elections next month.

The Congress, affirming its commitment to its alliance with the SP for 2019 Lok Sabha election, has named the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh as its star campaigner for Karnataka Assembly polls.

Along with Akhilesh Yadav, RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav and NCP leader Sharad Pawar are among the star campaigners for the Congress in Karnataka assembly polls this time along with the party’s own leaders.

Surprisingly, SP and BSP are going for an alliance in UP, but in Karnataka, they will go separate ways. BSP is contesting the Karnataka Assembly election in alliance with Janata Dal (Secular) led by former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda.

SP spokesperson Rajendra Choudhury said here on Monday that Akhilesh Yadav will campaign for the Congress candidates in Karnataka assembly polls.” We are yet to decide on whether to field any candidate in alliance with the Congress in this elections,” he said.

Though SP has its organisational unit in Karnataka and it had asked it to decide the names of the candidates a few weeks ago but it now it seems that they are not contesting the Assembly election in the southern state.

S Bangarappa, former Chief Minister of Karnataka, was elected to Lok Sabha from Karnataka on Samajwadi Party ticket, a decade ago.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member Assembly. The results will be out on May 15.