Polls in MP, Rajasthan, C’garh, Mizoram, Telangana from Nov 12 to Dec 7: EC

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Saturday said assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram will be held simultaneously before December 15.

“Model of conduct will come into force in the four states with immediate effect,” Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said.

The phase 1 voting for state assembly election in Chhattisgarh will be held on November 12 and voting for phase 2 on November 20.

While Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram assembly elections will be held on November 28, Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls on December 7.

To check criminalisation of politics, changes in nomination procedure and advertisements will take place according to Supreme Court order.

Voters’ assistance booths to be set up by EC. We will have all women polling stations where even security personnel will be women. VVPATs to remain. Mock polls to be conducted before start of every poll,” Rawat said.

Except Mizoram, which is ruled by the Congress, all the other states are ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). 

Counting of votes to be done on December 11 for Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana state assembly elections.

“By-polls in Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya in Karnataka to be held on November 3,” Rawat added.

The Congress raised questions on the “independence of ECI (Election Commission of India)” after the election body changed the timing of its press conference. The Election Commission said the press conference was moved to 3 pm to ensure that mediapersons could make it to the venue on time.

To this, Rawat said, “Politicians have to see politics in everything. No comments on that.”