Scindia terms decemation of Congress govt ‘people’s win’

New Delhi: Former Congress stalwart Jyotiraditya Scindia, who recently switched over to the BJP, had termed Kamal Nath’s resignation as “victory of people of Madhya Pradesh.” Congress’ outgoing chief minister Kamal Nath, however. blamed horse trading and BJP’s money power behind the change of power in Madhya Pradesh. 

 “This breach of trust was against the people of Madhya Pradesh, not against me. People will not forgive those who went against their wishes. Twenty-two of our MLAs were held captive in Bengaluru. This was politics spending crores of rupees,” Nath said at a presser before submitting his resignation officially.

While, ‘Satyamev Jayate’ was former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh’s two-word message after Congress goverment crumbled under the weight of Jyotiraditya Scindia’s rebellion.

At the same time, Pradeep Jaiswal, an Independent MLA, said, “Being an Independent MLA, now I don’t have have any other option but to support the new govt which will be formed, for the development of my people. I have spoken to them (BJP).” 

The Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly has 230 MLAs, of which 24 seats are vacant. A majority in the House of 206 MLAs will require the support of 104 MLAs. The BJP has 107 MLAs, and the Congress 92. The Congress has the support of the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party and Independent MLAs, which totals up to 99.

With the resignation of 16 more MLAs, the strength of Congress has come down to 92 from 108. Earlier, six ministers had resigned which brought down the ruling party’s strength from 114 to 108. On the other hand, the BJP has 107 members in the House.

However, the BJP had paraded 106 legislators before the governor on Monday after one of its MLAs, Narayan Tripathi, was absent and seen with the Congress legislators after the assembly proceedings.

The BSP has two members in the House while the SP has one besides four independents. All these MLAs – BSP, SP and independents – had extended their support to the Congress during the formation of the government in 2018.