SC collegium recommends elevation of four High Court chief justices

New Delhi: On Monday the Supreme Court collegium recommended the elevation of four High Court chief justices – Gujarat HC chief justice Reddy, Madhya Pradesh HC chief Justice Gupta, Patna HC chief justice MR Shah, and Tripura HC chief justice Ajay Rastogi — to the top court, as per a Hindustan Times report.

The Supreme Court collegium consists of five top judges responsible for appointments to the top court. Headed by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi, the collegium includes Justices MB Lokur, Kurien Joseph, AK Sikri and SA Bobde.

If the recommendations are cleared, the Supreme Court will have working strength of 28, the sanctioned strength is 31.

As Justices Kurian Jospeh and MB Lokur are set to retire in November and December, and Justice AK Sikri is set to retire in March, there will be three vacancies.

Justice MR Shah practiced at the Gujarat High Court and was elevated as an additional judge in 2004. He was appointed chief justice of Patna High Court in August.

Justice R Subhash Reddy is the chief justice of the Gujarat High Court, and was sworn in as a permanent judge of the Andhra Pradesh High Court in 2004.

Justice Ajay Rastogi, the chief justice of Tripura High Court became a judge of the Rajasthan High Court in September 2004 and also served as the acting Chief Justice of there.

Justice Hemant Gupta the chief of Madhya Pradesh High Court, has previously served as the acting chief justice of the Patna High Court in 2016 and a judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court in 2002.

Justice Indira Banerjee, Justice Vineet Saran and Justice K M Joseph were the last appointments of the SC judges, made in August.