Rahul constitutes CWC, Digvijaya and Nath out

Bhopal/New Delhi: Congress president Rahul Gandhi, on Tuesday, constituted the Congress Working Committee (CWC) and dropped veterans Digvijaya Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi, Kamal Nath, Sushilkumar Shinde and Karan Singh from the party’s highest decision-making body.

The new Congress Working Committee (CWC) includes 23 members, 19 permanent invitees and 9 special invitees.

The list of committee members constituted two names from Madhya Pradesh, including that of Jyotiraditya Scindia as permanent invitee and Arun Yadav as special invitee. Earlier, Scindia was special invitee in the CWC from 2004 to 2008. Madhya Pradesh Congress in-charge Deepak Babaria is also a member of the CWC.

Party insiders say the selections to the CWC were made very specifically and the party high command is going for the young blood. A senior leader claimed that the party president has full confidence in Digvijaya Singh, as he is already working to get the Congress back to power in the state.

Now, Rahul says ‘I am the Congress’

  • Rahul, on Tuesday, broke his silence on the controversy following a remark on the Cong being a ‘party for Muslims; attributed to him.
  • ‘Their religion, caste or beliefs matter little to me. I seek out those in pain and embrace them. I erase hatred and fear. I love all living beings. I am the Congress,’ the Congress president tweeted.