MP: Hostile reception to MLAs prompts Shivraj to travel to all constituencies

Bhopal: In view of the upcoming assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh later this year, the BJP is preparing to take the state chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s ‘Jan Aashirvad Yatra’ to all the 230 assembly constituencies. The roadmap for the Yatra is almost ready. The state has been divided into two zones for the CM’s Yatra – Vindhya Pradesh, Bundelkhand, Mahakaushal and Baghelkhand form one zone, while Bhopal, Gwalior-Chambal and Malwa-Nimad form the second. The CM will spend two days each in constituencies in both the zones every week. The Yatra will start from Ujjain on July 14 and will be flagged off by BJP President Amit Shah.

Special vehicles

In the last elections, Chouhan could visit only 206 assembly constituencies. This time, the party is trying to ensure that not a single assembly constituency is left out. MP assembly elections are due in November-December this year. Party sources say that two special vehicles have been prepared for the Yatra. The chief minister will fly to the constituencies and then move around in the special vehicles. Significantly, the party has made national vice-president Prabhat Jha in-charge of the tour.

It is being said that officials of major departments (irrigation, education, urban development, Panchayat and rural development and agriculture) along with party leaders, will be present with the chief minister during his tour.

Worried over the protests against ‘Vikas Yatras’

The protests against the BJP MPs and MLAs, who are undertaking ‘Vikas Yatras’ in different parts of the state, has increased the party’s anxiety. State president Rakesh Singh is expected to tour all the divisional headquarters and hold meetings there. Recently, he held meetings in Chhindwara and Betul. In these meetings, Singh is also taking feedback on the performance of the party MLAs. It is noteworthy that after protests against Gyan Singh, Nandkumar Singh Chouhan and Anup Mishra in their constituencies, reports of people speaking openly against Shailendra Jain, Surendra Patwa and Vishwas Sarang in their areas have also come in. Gyan Singh, Surendra Patwa and Vishwas Sarang are ministers.

The BJP has been in on a winning streak in the state. It has emerged victorious in last three assembly elections.

Recommended For You