Mizoram assembly election updates: MNF wins majority as Congress loses its foothold in Northeast

New Delhi: The Mizo National Front (MNF) got simple majority in Mizoram assembly after election results were declared by the Election Commission on Tuesday.

The Mizo National Front (MNF) won a resounding victory by securing 26 constituencies while the incumbent Congress government won a paltry 5 seats. The regional party, led by party president Zoramthanga, ousted the Congress in the Northeastern state. The Congress had been in power in Mizoram for the past two terms. Five-time chief minister Lal Thanhawla lost from both Serchhip and Champhai South seats he contested from.

A total of 201 candidates in 40 Assembly seats went to polls on November 28, the key players being the Congress, the Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People’s Movement, and the Bharatiya Janata Party. While the incumbent Congress, the BJP and the MNF contested on all 40 seats, the ZPM battled it out on 35 seats.

At least eight independent candidates took home their victory feathers, while the BJP was snubbed by the Northeastern state with only one seat. Congress’ loss in this state of the Northeast with a population of a million citizens has allowed the BJP to indirectly breach the final frontier held by the Congress.


6.30pm: Outgoing CM of Mizoram Lal Thanhawla submits his resignation before the Governor, says “This is very disappointing. I didn’t expect this. I think I underestimated the new formation ZPM.”

6.30pm: A delegation of Mizo National Front (MNF) led by its President Zoramthanga met Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan after the party won 26 seats in the state Assembly polls.

4.45pm: “Since I am going to form the govt now my first priorities will be three things—to impose a prohibition on liquor, repair roads & implement Social Economic Development Programme (SEDP) which is our flagship programme,” says Zoramthanga, President of Mizo National Front (MNF).

4.30pm: Members and workers of Mizo National Front celebrate at party headquarters in Aizawl.

4:30 pm: According to the Election Commission of India, the MNF has won 26 constituencies so far in a resounding victory.

3.49pm: The MNF has attained majority in the Mizoram assembly, winning 21 seats, according to Election Commission data. It is still leading in five seats.

3.05pm: MNF workers in Aizwal celebrate poll mandate.

3.01pm: BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma congratulated MNF’s Zoramthanga for the party’s lead.

2.33pm: The MNF is short of 5 seats to attain simple majority. The party has won 16 seats and is leading in nine, as per Election Commission data. The Congress, on the other hand, has won four seats and is leading in one. Independents have won five seats and are leading in eight.

1.50pm: According to the Election Commission, the MNF, with a vote share of 37. 6% (2,13,208 votes) has won 14 seats. The Congress has won 4 and the Independents 5.

The Congress has secured a vote share of 30.1% (1,70,330 votes), independents 23.6% (1,33,636 votes), and the BJP 7.4% (42,018 votes).

12.21pm: Five-term chief minister and nine-time MLA Lal Thanhawla has lost in both his seats — Chmphai South nd Serchhip.

12.16pm: The BJP has opened account in Mizoram by winning the Tuichawang seat. BJP candidate Buddha Dhan Chakma secured 11,171 votes, while MNF candidate Rasik Mohan Chakma got 9,655 votes.

11.30am: Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has lost from Champhai South seat, MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga has won.

10.48am: The MNF is leading in 27 seats, the Congress is leading in 9. The BJP is leading in 1 seat, others in 3.

10.41am: The MNF is distributing sweets at its office, already.


10.39am: Early trends suggest that the Mizo National Front has crossed the halfway mark. Leads with 27 seats.

10.25am: While Thanhwla was ealier leading in Serchhip and trailing in Champhai South, the incumbent chief minister is now trailing in both the assembly constituencies. The anti-incumbency sentiment is evident in Mizoram.

10.17am: Lal Thanhawla is leading in Serchhip, the Congress CM is trailing in Champhai South assembly seat.

9.46am: Vanlalzawma, the 62-year-old leader of opposition in the Mizoram legislature, is leading in Aizawl West-III.

9.36am: Buddha Dhan Chakhma is leading in Tuichawng. BD Chakhma, a 45-year-old doctor by profession, was influential Congress leader before he joined the BJP. The Chakhma vote is crucial for the BJP. The Chakhma is a minority group living in the margins of society in Mizoram who have regularly alleged persecution of Mizo organisations.

9.20am: As per the trends, MNF is leading with 16 seats in the state, Congress with 11 seats and other parties are leadin with only one seat.

9.05 am: Early trends show that MNF is leading in 11 seats while the congress leads in 9 seats, BPJ leads in only one.

9.00 am: 5 seat declared, MNF leads in 3 seats and the Congress in 2 seats

8.50 am: 3 out of 40 seats declared, Congress leads in 2 seats

8.50am: Early trends of the assembly election results show the Congress leading by one seat in Mizoram

8.30 am: The Mizo National Front (MNF), with Zoramthanga as the party president, is currently in opposition in Mizoram. The MNF has twice formed the government in Mizoram – 1998-2003 and 2003-2008. Although the MNF is an ally of BJP at Centre, the party decided to fight the Mizoram polls separately.

8.15 am: An aggregate of the exit polls predictions showed the MNF winning 18 seats, the Congress 16 and the others six, while BJP got none. The MNF and Congress contested from all the 40 seats in the state, and the BJP fought in 39. The Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM), an alliance formed by two political parties and four groups, also contested in 35 seats.

8.00 am: Counting of votes begins at counting halls amid tight security. The results will decide the fate of 209 candidates, of which 15 are women. Counting will begin at 13 counting centres in the eight district headquarters, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ashish Kundra said on Monday.

Mizoram recorded a voter turnout of 80.52 per cent on November 28.