Ministers, leaders pay last respects to Arun Jaitley

New Delhi: The mortal remains of former finance minister Arun Jaitley were on Sunday morning brought to the Bharatiya Janata Party headquarters where Union ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, senior party leaders and workers paid their last respects.

BJP working president JP Nadda, Union ministers Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal and Anurag Thakur, and Aam Aadmi Party leader Sanjay Singh also paid their last respects to Jaitley.

“Jaitley’s loss is irreparable and he will always be remembered for his contribution,” Harsh Vardhan said.    

The body will be taken to the Nigambodh Ghat in a flower-decked gun carriage on the banks of the Yamuna river for performing the last rites around 2.30 pm with full State honours, a senior BJP leader said.

The 66-year-old passed away at the AIIMS in New Delhi on Saturday. 

He was undergoing treatment at the hospital, where he was admitted on August 9.

Among others who paid their respects are Manipur governor Najma Heptulla, Gujarat chief minister Vijay Rupani and Yoga Guru Ramdev.

Wrapped in the national flag, Jaitley’s body was brought to the BJP headquarters located on the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Marg here from his Kailash Colony residence.

BJP workers and mourners queued up in large numbers outside the party headquarters to pay their last respects to the departed leader.

Outside the party office, people chanted Jab tak suraj chand rahega Jaitley tera naam rahega (Your name will endure as long as the Sun and the Moon exist)” and Jaitley ji amar rahe (Long live Jaitley).