Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav announce seat-sharing details in UP; SP to fight 37, BSP 38

Lucknow: In a final snub to Congress’s hope in the opposition alliance in Uttar Pradesh, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati and the Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday shared the final seat sharing for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The list had 75 of the state’s 80 seats, of which Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party gets 38 seats and the Samajwadi Party 37.

The two parties named the seats distributed among them in a statement signed by SP president Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati.

The 37 seats in the SP quota include Kairana, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Mainpuri, Firozabad, Badaun, Bareilly, Lucknow, Etawah, Kanpur, Kannauj, Jhansi, Banda, Allahabad, Kaushambi, Phulpur, Faizabad, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Azamgarh, Varanasi and Mirzapur.

The BSP will contest from Saharanpur, Bijnor, Nagina, Aligarh, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Dhaurahara, Sitapur, Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Kaiserganj, Basti, Salempur, Jaunpur, Bhadohi and Deoria, among other constituencies.

The two parties announced a tie-up for the parliamentary elections last month. The BSP and the SP had then decided to put up candidates on equal number of seats. But the release signed by the two party chiefs named one less constituency for the Samajwadi Party.

This announcement turns the battle for Uttar Pradesh – the game changer and gateway to Delhi into a three-cornered contest.

(With inputs from PTI)