Mamata Banerjee only woman Chief Minister in India’s 29 states

New Delhi: After the assembly elections results in five states, the number of women Chief Ministers across India reduced to one. Following the resignation of Vasundhara Raje as Rajasthan Chief Minister, West Bengal is the only state governed by a woman Chief Minister – Mamata Banerjee.

With Mehbooba Mufti serving as the CM of Jammu and Kashmir, Vasundhara Raje in Rajasthan, Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal and Anandiben Patel in Gujarat, the figure was four two years back.

Indira Gandhi and Vasundhara Raje came from a political background but other women CM’s like Mayawati and Jayalalitha evolved under the guidance of their political mentors Kashiram and Ramachandran respectively.

It is important to discuss women participation in politics as a total of 16 women chief ministers have served in Indian states including Sheila Dixit, Rabri Devi, and Uma Bharti.

Let’s take a look back at some of the women who served as CMs:

After Narendra Modi resigned in 2014 to take charge as the PM of India, Anandiben Patel was sworn in as the CM of Gujarat. She is currently serving as the governor of the state.

Jayalalitha served five terms as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for over 14 years between 1991 and 2016.

Dalit leader, Mayawati also spent four separate terms as chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Now, Mamata Banerjee is the only woman serving as a Chief Minister, it is her second consecutive term as CM of West Bengal.

Participation of women in Lok Sabha

In the 16th Lok Sabha, the participation women is around 12 %. Out of the 543 sitting Members of Parliament only 65 are women. Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of women MPs i.e. 14.

Participation of women in Rajya Sabha

As on December 12, 2018, among the 244 Rajya Sabha MP’s only 24 are women, which is around 11.5% of the total sitting members in the Upper House of parliament.