Major jolt to BJP in northeast, two ministers, six MLAs quit party in Arunachal over tickets

New Delhi: In a major jolt to BJP in the northeast, as many as 25 BJP leaders have resigned in the last few days after they were denied tickets for upcoming assembly elections.

At least 18 BJP leaders in Arunachal Pradesh, including Home Minister Kumar Waii, Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin, party general secretary Jarpum Gambin and six MLAs quit after they were denied tickets.

Assembly polls in Arunachal will be held simultaneously with Lok Sabha polls in April. They have joined Conrad Sangma’s National Peoples party (NPP), a key BJP ally which has decided to go solo across northeast.

‘BJP practising dynasty politics’

Home Minister Kumar Waii, meanwhile, accused the BJP of practicing dynasty politics.

“If the BJP was right, we would not have resigned. The party’s top leadership says for BJP, the country comes first, the party second and than the individual. But in reality, they practice the opposite. They attack the Congress on its dynasty politics but look at Arunachal pradesh, the Chief Minister’s family have got three tickets,” he said.

Ahead of the polls, the BJP has finalised only two alliances in the northeast region. Many of its regional allies, including Conrad Sangma’s NPP and Sikkim’s SKM, have dumped the party.

Ex-minister Tsering Jurmey, party MLAs Pani Taram, Pangka Bage, Thangwang Wangham, Tapuk Taku, Kardo Nyigyor and, Wanglingn Lowandong and and have also resigned.

Senior NPP leader Thomas Sangma said: “The NPP would now try to field candidates for at least 30-40 seats in the 60-member assembly. We will form our own government if we win in the seats.”

BJP leader Kiren Rijiju said that the decision on tickets was made by the central election committee.