Maharashtra/ NCP-Congress-Shiv Sena alliance meets Governor, claims to form government, Uddhav Thackeray to take oath on Dec 1

Mumbai: Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray was elected as the leader of the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance in a meeting of MLAs of the three parties at Hotel Trident on Tuesday.

Later in the evening, the delegation of Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi came to meet Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari. It included many leaders including Balasaheb Thorat, Eknath Shinde, Chhagan Bhujbal along with Aditya Thackeray.

They handed over the letter of support of the legislators to the governor and claimed to form the government. Uddhav will be sworn in at Shivaji Park on December 1 at 5 pm.

Earlier, Uddhav was chosen as the leader in a meeting of MLAs of the three parties at Hotel Trident.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray said- I had never dreamed of leading the state. I want to thank Sonia Gandhi and others. We are giving a new direction to the country by trusting each other. The three members of the Mahavikas Aghadi alliance will meet the Governor today. The oath-taking will take place on 1 December at Shivaji Park in Mumbai.’

Raut had claimed that Thackeray would be Chief Minister for 5 years: It was only after the Supreme Court’s floor test decision that CM Devendra Fadnavis and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar resigned and it was clear that the NCP-Congress-Shiv Sena coalition would be formed in Maharashtra. Only after this, Shiv Sena spokesman Sanjay Raut had claimed that Uddhav Thackeray would be the Chief Minister for 5 years.

There was speculation about Ajit’s arrival but he did not arrive: It was being said that Ajit Pawar can also reach. However, NCP Legislature Party leader Jayant Patil said Ajit would not attend the meeting. Eventually, Ajit did not reach the meeting.

Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari on Tuesday administered oath to Kalidas Nilkanth Kolambakar as the Protem Speaker of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

The Governor gave the oath to Mr Kolambhkar at a brief swearing-in-ceremony at Raj Bhavan, here.

Chief Secretary Ajoy Mehta, Principal Secretary (Law & Judiciary) R P Ladda and Parliamentary Affairs & Vidhan Bhavan Secretary Rajendra Bhagwat were present on the occasion.