LS polls 2019: AAP declares candidates for 6 of 7 seats in Delhi; says no coalition with Congress

New Delhi: Following its declaration that there will be no grand alliance or “mahagathbandhan” with the Congress in Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party on Saturday announced the names of seven seats in national capital for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The party will field Atishi from East Delhi, Raghav Chaddha from South Delhi, Pankaj Gupta from Chandni Chowk, Dilip Pandey from North East Delhi, Gugan Singh from North West Delhi and Brajesh Goel from the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat. The six candidates were earlier appointed as in charge on the respective Lok Sabha seats. The final seat for West Delhi is yet to be announced.

This announcement comes a day after Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president Sheila Dikshit turned down the alliance proposal with Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

During a meeting of ‘Mahagathbandhan’ at NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s residence last month, Congress president Rahul Gandhi had refused a proposal for an alliance between his party and the AAP, citing opposition from its Delhi unit leaders, Rai added.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in an event last month, had said, ” I am tired of trying to convince Congress for forming an alliance. But they refuse to understand. There should be only one candidate against every BJP candidate, votes must not be divided. If today our alliance with Congress is done, BJP will lose all seven seats in Delhi.”