LS polls 2019: BJP fielding candidates at maximum number of seats in its history

New Delhi: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has so far declared 408 Lok Sabha candidates, which is 20 less than its 2014 tally of 428.

According to a party leader, there will be at least 30 more names. So the party is set to contest the maximum number of Lok Sabha seats in its history this time. Lok Sabha has 543 seats.

The BJP had fielded candidates for 433 seats in 2009, 364 in 2004 and 339 seats in the 1999 polls.

BJP contesting all 42 LS seats in AP, Telangana

A higher number of BJP candidates are contesting since the BJP has no seat-sharing pact in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The BJP is contesting all 42 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. It contested just 12 in 2014.

The BJP had allied with Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. However, the party is contesting fewer seats in Assam, Bihar, and Jharkhand, and because of coalitions.

The BJP is due to announce its seven nominees for Delhi. The announcement has been delayed on account of a tug of war within the state unit.

Later the BJP adopted wait-and-watch strategy as seat-sharing talks between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress made no headway, said people aware of the developments.

The BJP has not declared another eight candidates for Uttar Pradesh. It is yet to announce names for eight seats in Madhya Pradesh, including Indore and Bhopal.

Besides the BJP is yet to announce names for the two seats in Haryana, one in Rajasthan and another three seats in Punjab where it will contest in alliance with the Shiromani Akali Dal.

Another party leader said these names are expected to be announced in the next couple of days.