KL dropped, Shubman called up for Test series vs SA

New Delhi: India named a 15-man squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa starting October 2. KL Rahul, who had a poor time in the two Tests in the West Indies was dropped, while Shubman Gill got his maiden call-up in the Test side.

Regular ODI opener Rohit Sharma will don the same role in Tests as well, which was confirmed by the chairman of selectors MSK Prasad. Also, fast bowler, Umesh Yadav doesn’t find a place in the squad.

There were no other surprises in the Indian side for the three Test matches. Ranked numero-uno in the ICC Test rankings, India also lead the table in the World Test Championship with 120 points after crushing West Indies in both matches.

India had lost to South Africa 1-2 the last time these two teams met in early 2018. However, India had won the Test series against South Africa at home in 2015 – that was Virat Kohli’s first full Test series as captain.

India have had a good run in Test cricket after losing series in South Africa and England. Virat Kohli created history when he led India to a series triumph in Australia. Either side of the Australia tour, India routed the West Indies to assert their domination in the Test format.

Mayank Agarwal and Hanuma Vihari who debuted in the Test series against Australia, have come along well for India. While Agarwal has been brave as an opener, Vihari had an excellent series in the West Indies and even hit his maiden hundred in Test cricket after falling for 93 in the first Test.

India’s squad for Test series vs South Africa:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill