KCR sworn-in as Telangana CM for second straight term

Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party to a massive victory in the December 7 assembly elections, was sworn-in Thursday as the chief minister of Telangana for a second straight term.

KCR, as he is popularly known, was sworn in as the chief minister exactly at 1.25 pm, as per the muhurtam fixed by the Vedic pandits from Lord Lakshminarasimha Swamy temple at Yadagiri in Bhongir district, a famous pilgrim centre in Telangana. He is known for his beliefs in religious customs, traditions and rituals.

Governor ESL Narasimhan, who is also an ardent believer in Hindu rituals, administered the oath of office and secrecy to KCR and also another cabinet minister Mohd Mahmud Ali, who served as deputy chief minister in the previous term.

While KCR,64, took oath in Telugu, Ali did it in Urdu. The Cabinet will likely be expanded on December 18.

The head priest of the Yadadri temple Lakshmi Narasimhacharya said the auspicious time for the TRS president to take oath as the chief minister would start at 1.24 pm on Thursday, which happens to be Margasira Shashti as per Hindu almanac.

“The auspicious period will continue for another one-and-a-half hour. That is why we suggested this muhurtam for him,” he said.

The priest said it would give a “Raja Yoga” for KCR, who would get immense power to rule the state without any obstacles. “During this period, all the “grahas” (planets) are in a high position for him and bring him good luck in whatever he does,” Narasimhacharya said.

‘Ambitions like other regional parties’

  • The BJP Thursday sought to downplay the TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao’s pitch for a non-Congress, non-BJP front, saying he was pursuing his ambitions like other regional parties.
  • Every regional party wants to float a front of its own and KCR (as Rao is popularly known) having won Telangana is pursuing similar ambitions, BJP national spokesperson G V L Narasimha Rao told PTI.
  • “The same parties (like the Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party) are being moved by rival political formations in the hope of playing a decisive role in national politics”, he said.
  • “But people of this country have seen how ragtag coalitions have seriously damaged national growth and stability and will not support any party or parties that want instability to satisfy their political ambitions”, Rao, a Rajya Sabha member, said.
  • The NDA headed by the BJP, he asserted was as strong as in 2014 and would return to power despite “rival ambitions of a multitude of rival friends”.
  • KCR’s efforts also show that the Congress and its President Rahul Gandhi were not acceptable to many regional parties as an alternative to the BJP, he claimed.

The TRS won a second straight term in India’s youngest state after scoring a landslide victory in the assembly elections. It had 88 seats in its kitty in the 119-member assembly.

The Maha Kootami – the grand alliance of the Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) – managed to win just 21 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ended up with one seat.

The All-India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), headed by Asaduddin Owaisi, has retained seven seats, while independent candidates won the remaining three seats.