Karnataka bypolls: Congress-JD(S) shock BJP after 4:1 victory

New Delhi: The Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) alliance registered a 4-1 victory in the recently held bypolls in Karnataka. The bypolls elections were held for three Lok Sabha seats — Ballari, Mandya and Shivamogga — and two Assembly seats — Ramanagara and Jamkhandi.

The victory includes a big upset in Ballari, a BJP stronghold for the last decade and a half.

The Congress called it a “teaser for what is in store for the BJP next year,” in a tweet in which the party celebrated “the sweeping victory of the Congress-JD(S) alliance.”

The alliance candidates won Jamkhandi and Ramanagar assembly seats and Ballari, Mandya parliamentary seats. Congress’s VS Ugrappa won from Ballari — a Bharatiya Janata Party bastion — with a massive margin. While the JD(S)’s Shivarame Gowda defeated BJP’s TR Siddaramaiah with a margin of 3,24,943 votes in Mandya.

AS Nyamagouda of the Congress defeated Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao of the BJP in Jamkhandi by a margin of 39,480 votes. Chief minister HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anitha, who was contesting from Ramnagar assembly constituency, trumped BJP’s L. Chandrashekhar by over 1,09,137 lakh votes.

Karnataka BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa’s son Raghavendra scored the only win for the BJP by defeating JD(S)’s S Madhubangarappa by over 47,000 votes .

As the results trickled in, Congress leader P Chidambaram tweeted a dig at the BJP saying, “4-1 result (unsure about Shimoga LS) in Karnataka looks like a Test series win under Virat Kohli. Coalition has delivered.”

Hitting out at PM Narendra Modi, former Karnataka chief minister Siddaramaiah also tweeted, “When @narendramodi does not answer questions of the ppl. Ppl will answer during elections.”

Karnataka Congress leader and a minister in the state government, DK Shivakumar, said that bypoll results were an indication of the Congress-JD(S) alliance’s good fortunes in next year’s Lok Sabha election.

“This Deepavali, I thank the people of Karnataka & especially Bellary for blessing Congress party with this record victory,” Shivakumar tweeted, adding that the alliance was sure to win more than 20 of Karnataka’s 28 Lok Sabha seats in the 2019 general elections.

JD(S) leader HD Deve Gowda thanked the “people of Karnataka for supporting development-centric administration of JDS-INC Government. People of the state have given their response to those who were trying to destabilise the state Government.”