Kapil Dev, Sidhu, Gavaskar feature on Imran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony guest list

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) said Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar and Navjot Singh Sidhu are being invited to Prime Minister-designate Imran Khan's oath ceremony.

Islamabad: A senior PTI leader said on Friday, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has decided to invite Indian celebrities to the oath-taking ceremony of cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan in Islamabad on August 18.

Senator Faisal Javed tweeted that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party-led by Khan has invited Indian cricketers Kapil Dev, Navjot Singh Sidhu and Sunil Gavaskar to attend the oath taking ceremony of Imran Khan.

Imran Khan to take oath as Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan on the 18th Aug 2018 inshALLAH (if God wills)”, Javed tweeted.

Mr Khan’s party PTI also revived the plan to invite the three “cricket legends from India and Kaptaan’s old friends” . It was last week when the party said that Imran Khan was against inviting foreign leaders and celebrities as he wanted to keep the event very simple.

His party had initially planned to invite several foreign leaders and personalities, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bollywood superstar Aamir Khan and Indian cricketers like Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavasker and Navjot Singh Sidhu to the event.

However, Dawn newspaper quoted PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry as saying, “The PTI chairman has directed to stage the oath-taking event with austerity.”

Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu had promptly accepted the yet-to-come invitation earlier and declared that he would travel to Pakistan for the event.

Kapil Dev responded more cautiously, underlining that he hadn’t received an invite but he will “surely go there” for the ceremony with the government’s approval if the invite did come. Sunil Gavaskar and actor Aamir Khan hadn’t commented on the invite.


Show More