Kamal Nath to take oath as Madhya Pradesh CM on December 17

New Delhi: Congress has picked Kamal Nath as Chief Minister for Madhya Pradesh.

As per the reports, Nath will take oath as Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister on December 17 at Lal Parade Ground in Bhopal. The MLAs who will reportedly take oath along with Nath are Sajjan Singh Verma, KP Singh, Jitu Patwari, Bala Bachchan, Arif Akeel, Tulsi Silawat, Govind Rajput, Laxman Singh, Vijay Laxmi Sadho, Tarun Bhanot, Sachin Yadav, Kamleshwar Patel, Hina Kavre, NP Prajapati,Sanjay Sharma and Deepak Saxena.

The 72-year-old was named as the next CM late on Thursday after hours of hectic parleys held by party president Rahul Gandhi in New Delhi amid a debate over whether to pick ‘old guard’ Kamal Nath or ‘young captain’ Jyotiraditya Scindia. Kamal Nath is scheduled to meet Madhya Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel on Friday to finalise the details of swearing-in ceremony.

After being named as the leader of the Congress legislature party in Bhopal, Kamal Nath, in an emotional message, thanked Jyotiraditya Scindia for supporting him. Pointed out that he had also worked with Jyotiraditya’s father late Madhavrao Scindia, Kamal Nath said, “He has supported me and that matters a lot.”

Kamal will take the office of chief minister for the first time in a distinguished career in politics. A nine-time MP from Madhya Pradesh’s Chhindwara constituency, Kamal served as the pro-tem Speaker of the 16th Lok Sabha (elected in 2014).

He has also served as the Union Ministry of Commerce and Industry in former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s first term and the Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways from May 2009 to January 2011, among others.

He was elected as the party’s Madhya Pradesh president in May this year.

Having been elected as the chief minister of the state government, the challenge that lies in the days ahead for Kamal is to consolidate the voter base for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections, slated to be held in April-May next year.