Journalist Rajat Sharma elected as DDCA president

New Delhi: India TV Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma on Monday was elected as the President of Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA).

Sharma got 54.40 % votes in his favour while Rakesh Kumar Bansal has been elected as the Vice President with 48.87 % votes in his favour.

Voting for the cricket governing body was held between June 27 to 29 at Pallika Bhawan while the election process ended on June 30 at Ferozeshah Kotla Ground.

A total of 2791 votes were cast in the DDCA polls wherein 3500 members were nominated for voting. Other candidates running for the post included former cricketer Madan Lal and advocate Vikas Singh.

Earlier, Singh, a senior advocate in Supreme Court had written a complaint letter to the Returning Officer alleging that Sharma “was sitting inside the voting area and influencing the voters and accompanying the voters to cast their votes”

Many eminent cricketers including Virender Sehwag, Kirti Azad, Bishan Singh Bedi, Gautam Gambhir and Manoj Prabhakar cast their votes during the election.

DDCA is the first cricket body to have gone to polls after the Lodha committee’s recommendations were implemented. The voters had to be present at the time of voting, thereby, ending the proxy voting practice.