JNUSU elections: Left alliance sweeps all central panel posts

New Delhi: United Left Front — an alliance of four left parties — have won all the four central panel seats in the students union elections of the prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru University. While N Saibalaji of Left unity won the presidential seat this year, candidates Sarika Chaudhary, Aejaz Ahmed and Amutha Jaydeep of the left unity won the vice-president, general-secretary and joint-secretary posts respectively.

For the presidential post, N.Saibalaji got 2,151 votes out of the total 5107 votes. ABVP candidate Lalit Pandey got 972 votes. Thallapalli Praveen of BAPSA remained in third position securing 635 votes and Jayant Kumar of RJD got 479 votes.

Similar results were reported for the Vice-president seat where Sarika Chaudhary of left unity got 2,592 votes while ABVP’s Geeta Sri got 1,013 votes in the second position. Winners of the general-secretary and joint-secretary posts got 2,426 and 2,047 votes respectively.

Additionally, the United Left front also won 14 out of 15 councillor post in big schools like School of Social Sciences, School of International Studies and School of Language. NSUI won one councillor seat in SIS while BAPSA won one in SAA. ABVP also won one councillor seat in Sanskrit department.

The trend for the central panel was quite visible after the councillor results were declared. Usually, the councillor results determine the final outcome. This year, the Left has won the councillor posts in School of Life Sciences, School of Computer and System Sciences — which were earlier in the strongholds of ABVP.

After the victory, celebratory remarks were seen everywhere on Twitter. JNU alumni and member of CPI-ML Kavita Krishnan celebrated the left victory in JNU. She termed this win as “victory of JNU students” over a “united Sanghi nexus”.

Shehla Rashid, student activist and former Vice-president of JNUSU also congratulated student activists for this comprehensive victory.