Jhabua by-election/ Kantilal Bhuria of Congress ahead of Bhanu Bhuria of BJP by over 27000 votes

Bhopal: The decision of who will win the assembly in Jhabua by-election will be decided by some time today. Counting began at 8 am at the Polytechnic College. Postal ballots were counted first, followed by EVMs.

At 9 am, the trend of the first round came, in which Kantilal Bhuria of the Congress overtook Bhanu Bhunia of the BJP, after which he continued to lead.

Kantilal Bhuria had lost in Lok Sabha elections: Kantilal Bhuria’s son Dr Vikrant Bhuria stood for Congress and Guman Singh Damor for BJP in Jhabua seat in the 2018 assembly elections. Damor won the election.

In the May 2019 Lok Sabha election, BJP made Damor a Lok Sabha candidate from Ratlam seat. He won this election as well defeating Congress’s Kantilal Bhuria. He then resigned from the post of MLA. This election means a lot for both the parties Congress and the BJP.

The counting will be completed in 26 rounds amid tight security and under the surveillance of CCTV cameras,” Jhabua Collector and Returning Officer Prabal Sipaha said.

While the main contestants are senior Congress leader Kantilal Bhuria and the BJP’s Bhanu Bhuria, who is making his electoral debut, three independents — Kalyan Singh Damor, Neelesh Damor and Rameshwar Singhar — are also in the fray.

The Congress, which enjoys a slim majority in the state Assembly, is keen to wrest the seat from the BJP. The ruling party won the seat, reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates, ten times since 1952.