Article 370 removed, now Jammu and Kashmir & Ladakh will be separate union territories

New Delhi:The central government revoked Article 370 on Monday. Now Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh will be separate union territories. For this, Home Minister Amit Shah introduced a resolution to remove Article 370 in the Rajya Sabha. After Shah moved a proposal in the Parliament, President Ramnath Kovind issued notification under the Constitution Order (for Jammu and Kashmir) 2019 to remove Article 370.

Earlier, when the Rajya Sabha proceedings began, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu asked Shah to present the Jammu and Kashmir Reservation Amendment Bill.

On this, Leader of the Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad said that there is a curfew in Kashmir. Three former chief ministers have been placed under house arrest. The situation in the state is similar to that of war. The bill will be passed. We are not against the bill, but we should first discuss the situation in Kashmir. We have also given notice about this. It should be discussed for an hour.

Section 144 was imposed in sensitive areas of Kashmir at 12 midnight on Sunday. Many leaders are under house arrest, including Mehbooba Mufti, Omar and Farooq Abdullah.

On reaching Parliament, the reporters asked Shah questions about the big decision on Kashmir, but he did not answer and smiled and went inside.

The Congress gave an adjournment notice in both the houses and held a meeting in the chamber of Ghulam Nabi Azad before the proceedings. Apart from this, leaders of several parties including Mehbooba Mufti’s party PDP, AIMIM MP Asaduddin Owaisi, CPI (M) will raise the issue of Kashmir in Parliament.

I am ready for all discussions: Shah

Shah told the Upper House: ‘I am ready for all discussions by the leader of the Opposition, the entire opposition and the members of the ruling party over Kashmir issue. I am ready to answer all questions.’

The BJP has been opposing the special status for Jammu & Kashmir for a long time. It had earlier claimed that it could not repeal Article 370 during Atal Bihari Vajpayee government due to lack of a majority. The BJP has been opposing it since Jan Sangh days.