Indian badminton players to participate in Japan Open

New Delhi: After the Indonesia Open, the Indian shuttlers are now gearing up for the Japan Open that begins from July 23.

Indian ace PV Sindhu bagged silver medal in Indonesia Open where she was defeated by Akane Yamaguchi of Japan in the finals on Sunday. Sindhu was the only Indian in the medal race of the competition.

India’s top singles and double badminton players will now participate in the Japan Open scheduled to be held at the Musashino Forest Sports Plaza, which will also host badminton matches of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

The Indian squad for the Japan Open includes Srikanth Kidambi, Sameer Verma, Sai Praneeth, HS Pronnoy and Parupalli Kashyap for Men’s singleds event; PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal for women’s singles; Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Sumeeth Reddy and Manu Attri for men’s doubles; N Sikki Reddy and Ashwini Ponappa for women’s doubles and N Sikki Reddy and Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Ashwini Ponappa and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy for mixed doubles.

The Japan Open will conclude on July 28.