Hung Assembly to Yeddy as Karnataka CM: High-voltage drama in 10 points

New Delhi: Hours after the Supreme Court declined to stay his swearing-in ceremony, BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa took oath as the Karnataka Chief Minister on Thursday.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yeddyurappa at 9am at the Raj Bhavan amid tight security. Yeddyurappa, 75, took the oath in Kannada in the presence of party’s central and state leaders and its newly-elected legislators and senior officials.

Congress seeks recall of Karnataka Governor; supports its claim with PM Modi’s old tweet

The top court did not dismiss the petition, saying it would be heard next at 10.30 am on Friday and that the matter would be subject to the outcome of the hearing.

It all began on May 15.

Here are 10 points to guide you through the Karnataka CM race:

  1. The counting of votes on May 15 throws up a hung assembly.
  2. The BJP, at 104, falls short of the majority mark of 112. The Congress, with 78 seats, and Janata Dal(Secular) with 37 forge an alliance. Both the BJP and the Congress-JD(S) alliance stake claim to form government.
  3. As parties wait for Governor Vajubhai Vala’s response, rumours of alleged poaching surface with charges and counter-charges from both sides.
  4. On Wednesday night, the governor invites BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa to form the government being the leader of the single largest party.
  5. The Congress cries foul and challenges the governor’s decision in the Supreme Court at 2am, May 17.
  6. After a rare overnight hearing, the top court refuses to stop Yeddyurappa’s oath ceremony but agrees to hear the Congress petition on Friday at 10.30am.
  7. After the night of high drama, Yeddyurappa takes oath as chief minister of Karnataka at 9am on Thursday.
  8. He has 15 days to prove majority on the floor of the Assembly.
  9. Congress president Rahul Gandhi tweets, “This morning, while the BJP celebrates its hollow victory, India will mourn the defeat of democracy.” 
  10. After Goa and Bihar, Manipur to stake claim to form government. At present, Congress members are protesting across the country against Karnataka governor’s decision.
    Leaders of Karnataka Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) protest against the Karnataka Governor’s order to invite BJP leader BS Yediyurappa, to take oath as the new CM of the state on Thursday. (AFP)

    Read this to know about high-voltage drama before Yeddyurappa was sworn in as CM.