Five Metro stations in Delhi shut down ahead of AAP’s march to PM Modi’s residence

New Delhi: Five Metro stations in central Delhi will remain shut on Sunday evening as the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is set to march to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s residence.

As advised by police, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) first closed entry and exit at Lok Kalyan Marg station from 12 noon, after which operations at Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Patel Chowk and Janpath stations were also shut down from 2 pm. The interchange service will, however, be available at the Central Secretariat station.

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, along with his cabinet colleagues, has been sitting on a dharna at Lt Governor Anil Baijal’s house for almost a week demanding him to issue a directive to civil servants who the AAP leader says are on de facto strike.

On not getting any response from the Lt Governor, the AAP announced a march to Modi’s residence at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, starting from Mandi House at 4 pm on Sunday.

Delhi Traffic Police on Twitter said traffic movement was closed from Patel Chowk to Jantar Mantar due to the demonstration.

On Friday, Kejriwal said he had received no response to his letter to PM Modi seeking his intervention for ending the IAS officers’ “strike”. He has also accused Baijal of doing “nothing” to end the impasse.

The IAS Officers’ Association has denied that they were on strike and maintained they were continuing written communication with Delhi ministers. The Bharatiya Janata Party, too, has refuted charges of meddling in the Delhi government’s functioning and instead, four BJP leaders have launched a counter protest at the chief minister’s office in Delhi Secretariat.