Digvijaya Singh to contest from Bhopal, Cong has not won here in three decade

Bhopal: Veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh has been declared a candidate from the Bhopal seat four days after he accepted Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s challenge to contest from the toughest seat in the Lok Sabha polls.

MP Chief Minister and State Congress Committee chief Kamal Nath confirmed on Saturday that Singh will contest from Bhopal.

“Digvijaya Singh has been a state party president and state’s CM for many years, but still he wanted to contest from his home constituency Rajgarh. I instead requested and offered him to consider contesting from any of three tough seats, Bhopal, Indore or Jabalpur,” said Nath on Saturday.

Earlier, Nath had said that he wants Singh to contest the general elections from the “toughest seat.”

“There are a few seats from where we have not won in the last 30-35 years,” he had said. Now, on Saturday, the Congress central election committee cleared the name of Digvijaya Singh as the party’s candidate for Bhopal.

Bhopal seat is currently held by BJP’s Alok Sanjar. Along with Indore and Vidisha, it is a high-profile seat that the Congress has not won in three decades.

Former President late Shankar Dayal Sharma was the last Congress winner from Bhopal seat in the 1984 Lok Sabha elections.

Digvijaya Singh and Kamal Nath are believed to be locked in an ego clash since Nath took over as Chief Minister in December. Infighting in Madhya Pradesh may hit the party in the elections just weeks ahead, many leaders fear.

Earlier this week, Digvijaya Singh had said that he will fight from wherever Congress chief Rahul Gandhi asks him to.

Sources say that Digvijaya Singh wanted to contest from the Rajgarh seat, which he had won in 1984 and 1991.