Cricket: India Vs S Africa/ Virat Kohli hits 26th century, equals Gary Sobers and Steve Smith

  • Virat Kohli surpassed former Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq (25) in terms of maximum centuries
  • Kohli hit a century after 10 innings, he is the fourth Indian in terms of most centuries
  • Ajinkya Rahane hits his 20th half-century of Test career

Pune: The second match of the three-Test series between India and South Africa is being played in Pune. India’s Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane are at the crease on the second day of the Test on Friday.

Indian captain Kohli scored his 26th century in Test career. With this, he equaled former West Indies player Gary Sobers and Australia’s Steve Smith. Kohli surpassed former Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, who has hit 25 tons, in the most centuries. Rahane, on the other hand, scored his 20th half-century of Test career.

This is Kohli’s 69th international and 12th century at home ground. He scored a century after 10 innings. Kohli scored his last century against Australia in Perth in December 2018. At that time he had scored an innings of 123 runs. Kohli shared a century partnership for the fourth wicket with Rahane. This is the 10th-century partnership for any wicket between the two.

Mayank scored a century in the second Test in a row

Earlier on the first day of the match, India had scored 273 for three wickets. Mayank Agarwal hit a 108-run knock, scoring his second consecutive century. He scored 215 runs in the last Test. Mayank is the second opener to score two consecutive centuries against South Africa. Earlier in 2010, Virender Sehwag did this in a series of two Tests. He scored 109 in Nagpur and 165 in Kolkata.

Rabada took 3 wickets on Day One

Earlier Mayank Agarwal hit 16 fours and 2 sixes in 195 balls. Cheteshwar Pujara scored 58 runs. Both were caught by Faf Duplessis off Kagiso Rabada. Earlier, Rabada also sent Rohit Sharma to the pavilion. Rohit scored 14 runs and was caught by Quinton de Kock.

Kohli leaves Ganguly behind

This is Kohli’s 50th Test as a captain. He is the second Indian captain to achieve this feat. Earlier, Mahendra Singh Dhoni captained 60 matches from 2008 to 2014. At the same time, Sourav Ganguly led the team in 49 matches from 2000 to 2005.