Cricket/ First ODI: Australia win by 10 wkts, Finch-Warner in biggest partnership against Team India in run chase

Mumbai: Australia defeated India by 10 wickets in the first match of the three ODI series. On Tuesday, they achieved the target of 256 runs without any loss in 37.4 overs at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The Australian team won the first ODI against India by 10 wickets.

David Warner scored 128 and captain Aaron Finch remained 110 not out. The two set a record for the biggest partnership against India. Earlier in 1997, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Stuart Williams of West Indies shared an unbeaten 200-run partnership.

Finch scored 16th and Warner scored 18th centuries of their career. Both shared a 50+ run partnership against India for the 5th consecutive time. Earlier, Pakistan’s Saeed Anwar and Aamir Sohail did it six times between 1994 and 1996.

Warner fourth fastest batsman to score 5000 runs: In Warner’s completed five thousand runs were in ODIs. He is the fourth batsman to reach this figure in the fewest innings. Warner achieved this feat in the 115th inning. Former South African batsman Hashim Amla took 101 innings, former West Indies batsman Vivian Richards and Kohli took 114 innings.

Manish Pandey concession substitute in place of Pant: India’s regular wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant did not play in the second innings. The ball hit his helmet during the batting. He was replaced by Manish Pandey as a concession substitute. Lokesh Rahul is wicket-keeping. He is the keeper for Kings XI Punjab in the IPL.

Dhawan hit his career’s 28th fifty: Shikhar Dhawan scored the highest 74 runs for India. This is the 28th half-century of his career. Mitchell Starc took three wickets for Australia. Pat Cummins and Ken Richardson had two successes each.

Rahul-Dhawan in a century partnership: Lokesh Rahul was out after scoring 47 runs. He was caught by Steve Smith off Ashton Eggar. Rahul shared a 121-run partnership for the second wicket with Dhawan. Rohit Sharma returned to the pavilion after scoring 10 runs. He was caught by David Warner off Mitchell Starc.

Pant could score only 28 runs off 33 balls: Virat Kohli returned to the pavilion after scoring 16 runs. Adam Jampa caught him off his own ball. Shreyas Iyer was dismissed for 4 runs. Ravindra Jadeja was caught by Alex Carrie off Kane Richardson for 25 runs. Shardul Thakur scored 13 runs. He was bowled by Stark. Rishabh Pant returned to the pavilion after scoring 28 runs off 33 balls. He was dismissed by Cummins.

5 players including Chahal-Jadhav not in final XI: Earlier, Team India landed in the match with their three openers Rohit, Dhawan and Rahul. Shivam Dubey, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Navdeep Saini did not feature in the playing XI.

Australia’s Marnash Labushane made his ODI debut. He was the highest run-scorer in Tests last year. Fast bowler Josh Hazlewood did not get a place in the team.

Both teams
Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Jaspreet Bumrah.

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Marnush Labushane, Steve Smith, Ashton Egger, Alex Carrie (wicketkeeper), Ashton Egger, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Aidan Jampa.