Congress, SP, Maya and Ajit Singh reach mega-deal in UP

Sources said the parties have decided to work out the details of sharing the state's 80 seats later

New Delhi: A broad agreement has been worked out between the Congress, Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samajwadi party supremo Mayawati and RLD leader Ajit Singh to take on the BJP in Uttar Pradesh.

Sources said the parties have decided to work out the details of sharing the state’s 80 seats later, according to an NDTV report. The understanding between the parties in the nation’s largest state is crucial to the building of an Opposition front to take on the BJP in next year’s general elections.

Sources said they are ready to give the Congress eight seats. “Unless there are tough negotiations, we will not agree to more than 10. The BSP will be given the maximum seats and the SP will be contesting approximately on 32 seats. Three seats will go to the RLD,” the report quoted a leader as saying.

Unity has already helped Oppn in Uttar Pradesh

  • The idea of a common front in Uttar Pradesh has already paid dividends in the by-elections held in the state earlier this year.
  • The common front had helped the Opposition win the high profile seats of Gorakhpur and Phulpur, and later Kairana and Noorpur.

Seat sharing agreement

  • Congress sources say the party is yet to broach the issue of seat sharing and is yet to be looped into the formula arrived at by the rest of the allies.
  • The BSP and the Samajwadi Party have a broad adjustment, under which Ajit Singh’s party will be given seats from the SP quota.
Show More