Chennai One-Day/ West Indies beat India by 8 wickets after 10 years, centuries by Hetmyer and Shai Hope

Chennai: West Indies defeated India by 8 wickets in the first match of the three ODI series. With this victory, they took a 1-0 lead in the series. In this match played at the Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday, the Windies won the toss and decided to bowl.

India scored 287 for 8 wickets in 50 overs. In response, the West Indies team scored 291 for 2 wickets in 47.5 overs. The Windies team won against India by 8 wickets after 10 years. They last defeated Team India by 8 wickets at Kingston in 2009.

In this match for West Indies, Shimron Hetmyer scored 139 and Shai Hope scored an unbeaten 102 runs. Both shared a 218-run partnership for the second wicket. Nicholas Pooran remained unbeaten on 29 runs. Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar took one wicket each for India. Earlier, Rishabh Pant scored 71 and Shreyas Iyer scored 70 runs for Team India. Kedar Jadhav contributed 40 runs.

Hope’s eighth and Hetmyer’s fifth century: Hetmyer hit 11 fours and seven sixes in his 106-ball innings. He was caught by Iyer off Shami’s ball. Hetmyer shared a 218-run partnership for the second wicket with Hope. Hope scored his eighth career and Hetmyer scored his fifth century.

Sunil Ambareesh returned to the pavilion after scoring 9 runs. He was lbw by Deepak Chahar.

Pant hits first half century in ODIs: Pant hit seven fours and a six in his 69-ball innings. Pant scored his first half-century in an ODI career. Hetmyer caught him off Pollard. Kedar shared a 59-run partnership for the sixth wicket with Jadeja. Jadeja scored 21 runs. Shivam Dubey (9) was dismissed by Chemo Paul. Deepak Chahar (7) and Mohammad Shami (0) remained unbeaten.

Rohit and Iyer formed a half-century partnership: Rohit Sharma was dismissed for 36 runs. He was caught by Kieron Pollard off Alzarri Joseph. Rohit shared a 55-run partnership for the third wicket with Iyer. Iyer hit his fifth fifty of his career. He shared a 114-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Pant.

Shivam Dubey’s debut in ODI: Earlier, Shivam Dubey made his ODI debut for India. Team India’s final XI did not include Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Both teams

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shivam Dubey, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Sunil Ambris, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Chemo Paul, Hayden Walsh, Aljari Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell.