Bengaluru ODI/ India wins 6th series against Australia; Virat Kohli becomes fastest captain to score 5000 runs, Rohit Sharma completes 9000 ODI runs

Rohit Sharma continued his love-affair with the M Chinnaswamy Stadium as he hit his 29th ODI hundred to help India beat Australia by 7 wickets in the third and final ODI on Sunday. India bagged the series 2-1.

The hosts rode on Rohit’s 119 off 128 balls to reach the target of 287 with 15 balls to spare. Rohit hit 8 fours and 6 sixes in his whirlwind knock and was ably supported his skipper Virat Kohli, who ended up with 89 off 91 balls, while Shreyas Iyer remained unbeaten on 44 off 35 deliveries.

The pair added 137 runs for the 2nd wicket to guide India to an easy win in Bengaluru. Rohit’s century was his 8th against Australia which is the second most in ODI cricket against the five-time champions. Kohli also has 8 centuries against the Aussies, while Sachin Tendulkar leads the list with 9.

Rohit took his tally to 437 runs at the Chinnaswamy where he averages over 109 from four games. Before this match, he had scores of 44, 209 and 65 at this ground with the last two also coming against Australia.

Rohit, Kohli reach major landmarks: Both Rohit and Kohli reached major landmarks during their knocks. Rohit completed 9000 ODI runs to become the third fastest to achieve the feat. Kohli broke MS Dhoni’s record to become the fastest to 5000 ODI runs as captain.

Kohli also joined an elite list of players with his hundredth 50-plus score. Sachin Tendulkar heads the list with 145 followed by Kumar Sangakkara (118), Ricky Ponting (112) and Jacques Kallis (103).

Earlier, Mohammed Shami once again turned out to be pick of the bowlers with his ability to execute toe-crushing Yorkers as India restricted Australia to 286 for 9 in 50 overs after being asked to bowl.