Article 370 revoked/ Elections in Jammu and Kashmir by year-end, President’s Rule to end on January 3; now 83 seats in assembly

New Delhi: The Central Government removed Article 370 from Jammu and Kashmir on Monday. Now Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh will be separate union territories. For this, Home Minister Amit Shah has presented the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Bill in Parliament. As soon as it is passed, Jammu and Kashmir will be a union territory with assembly. Ladakh will also be called a union territory, but there will not be an assembly there. After restructuring, elections will be held in Kashmir by the end of this year. President’s rule is in force in the state till 3 January 2019.

On 20 June last year, Governor Satyapal Malik imposed Governor’s rule in the Valley. On November 21, 2018 the governor dissolved the assembly. Then the Congress and the National Conference tried to form the government by supporting PDP. However, it was not approved by the Governor. After this, the Modi Government implemented President’s rule from 28th December 2018 here. It was extended for 6 months in July before its expiry

There were 87 assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir. But, after separation of separate Union Territory of Ladakh, four seats may be reduced. That is, if the current delimitation continues, there will be 83 assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir.

BJP withdrew support from PDP in 2018

In the elections held for Jammu and Kashmir’s 87-member assembly in 2014, PDP got 28 seats, BJP 25, National Conference 15, Congress 12 and others seven seats. Two months after the election, the PDP and the BJP together formed the government in the state. After the demise of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Mehbooba Mufti became the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir in 2016. However, the coalition government could only run for nearly three years. In 2018, the BJP withdrew support and Mehbooba had to resign.

The results of the 2014 assembly elections

Party Seat Vote percentage
PDP 28 22.9

BJP 25 23.2

JKN 15 21

Congress 12 18.2

IND 3 6.9

Other 4 7.8