After political impasse, Sri Lanka heads for general elections

Colombo: Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena using constitutional power dissolved the parliament on Friday, paving the way for general elections. This was the eighth parliament dissolution of the island country.

The Government Press released the Extraordinary Gazette notification of dissolution order signed by the President.

As per the notification, the election for the subsequent ninth parliament will be held on January 5, 2019 and the new parliament will meet on January 17 of the same year.

The nomination period will begin on November 19 and the candidates can file their candidature till November 26 as per the Gazette.

Sri Lanka has been going through a political turmoil since past two weeks, after President Sirisena sacked his prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, and replaced him with Mahinda Rajapaksa on October 26 this year.

Rajapaksa has previously served as the President and Prime Minister of Sri Lanka.

The previous General Elections for the Eighth Parliament were held on August 17, 2015 following which the first session was inaugurated on September 1 of the same year.

Mahinda Rajapaksa feels that the polls will establish the will of the people to make way for a stable country.

“As leaders, it is our responsibility and obligation to give the people the opportunity to voice their opinions on the future of Sri Lanka. A general election will truly establish the will of the people and make way for a stable country,” Rajapaksa tweeted.

Meanwhile, seven new ministers were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat on November 9.