2019 Lok Sabha elections: Congress leaves 7 seats for Mayawati-Akhilesh Yadav alliance in Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow: The Congress on Sunday announced that it will not contest seven seats in Uttar Pradesh and leave them for the SP-BSP-RLD alliance, known as the ‘Mahagathbandhan’. Among the seats that the Congress has left are Mainpuri, from where SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, Kannauj, the seat assigned to Dimple Yadav, and the seats from where BSP supremo Mayawati and RLD chief Ajit Singh and his son Jayant Chaudhary will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Addressing a press conference UP Congress chief Raj Babbar also announced the seat-sharing deal with its allies in the state.

While the SP-BSP-RLD alliance had announced that they will not field candidates in Amethi and Rae Bareli, Raj Babbar said that Congress will not field its candidates from Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad and the seats from where BSP supremo Mayawati, RLD chief Ajit Singh, his son Jayant Singh will contest. 

While SP patriarch Mulayam Singh is contesting from Mainpuri, Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav is expected to run from Kannuaj. The Firozabad parliamentary constituency is currently represented by SP Rajya Sabha member and Mulayam Singh’s cousin brother Ram Gopal Yadav’s son Akshay Yadav. Apart from these six seats, the Congress is likely to leave Azamgarh, where Akhilesh Yadav is expected contest.

On the seat-sharing pact with the regional parties, Babbar said that the party has reached an agreement on 7 seats with Jan Adhikar party (JAP), out of those 7, JAP will fight on 5 and we will fight on 2. While the Mohan Dal will not contest the general elections, they will support the party and wanted to only fight the Vidhan Sabha elections, said Raj Babbar.